Academy of Electrical and Computer Engineering (AECE) Minutes of Annual Business Meeting Thursday, April 7, 2022

Members Attending:

Sharon Beermann-Curtin	Brent McKinney
Daryl Beetner	Mark Nealon
Edward Bradley	Ken Owens
Thomas Dalton	Jim Paunicka
Alan Erickson	George Schindler
Kelvin Erickson	Donald Shaw
James Fricke	John Skain
Timothy Hagan	George Tomazi
Mark Hoffman	Roger Volk
Vince Kunderman	Steve Watkins
Leonard Laskowski	Ron Willoughby
Dennis Leitterman	

The annual meeting of the Academy of Electrical and Computer Engineering was held Thursday, April 7, 2022 and called to order at 8:00 a.m. The meeting was held in the Comfort Suites Conference Center. President Leonard Laskowski chaired the meeting.

Dr. Steve Watkins, Interim Department Chair, welcomed the Academy members. Participant introductions were made.

Dr. Kurt Kosbar reported on behalf of the Scholarship Committee. He reported that the Academy awarded a total of \$69,000 in scholarships this academic year. Twenty-four different students received support with these funds. The endowments provided four students a total of \$9,400 in scholarships. These scholarships were awarded to students who have a combined household income of less than \$40k (as reported on federal student aid form), are making normal progress toward their degree, have a strong GPA, and are an EE or CpE major. The Miner Match accounts provided twenty-three students support with a total distribution of \$59,600. Many of these students are from low-income families and have financial need. The recipients were: Edward Barsumyan, Emily Beckman, Anthony Ferrante, Donald Filbeck, Jonni Hill, Evan Hite, Connor Hunt, Johnny Leech, Sara McDaniel, Mark Mitchell, Jacob Morris, Emily Murray, Nhan Nguyen, Charles Nguyen Le, Zachary Osterwisch, Caleb Raye, Miranda Sauer, Gabriel Schoenberger, Seth Sievers, Jared Sinkey, Jason Slusser, Steven Thompson, and Stella White.

The IEEE/HKN Student Group then made a short presentation to the membership. They reported on activities that each group had recently been involved in and what membership looked like.

Dr. Steve Watkins, Interim Department Chair, then provided an update of the department. He reported that overall enrollment for the department was at 559 students (432 undergraduates and

127 graduates). He told about an in-person learning program that has been started in St. Louis and that one of the ECE faculty members will be teaching a summer course there.

He gave an update on department searches:

- Kummer Endowed Professor- two candidates interviewed, hire approval pending.
- ECE Department Chair internal search, permanent chair to start FS 22.
- ECE Academic Advisor hired Norma Gene Cottrell, she will begin on June 1^{st.}

Dr. Watkins reported on numerous student and faculty awards from the last year.

Zachary Osterwisch, scholarship recipient, also made a presentation to the membership. Joseph is from St. Peters, MO. He plans to graduate after he completes an internship with Sandia National Laboratories over the summer and then return for his MS in Computer Engineering.

The Flying Geese Senior Design team then presented their project (Air Quality Detection in Mines Using 3D Light Detection and Ranging Technology). The team's members include: Dibbya Barua, Zachary Osterwisch, Alexander Mauntel, and Nathanael Nisbett.

Laura Turek, Development Officer, provided a University Advancement update. She reported that the ground-breaking for the Innovation Lab would be held on April 21st. The building is expected to be completed in Fall 2023. She reported on the many new and exciting changes coming such as the Innovation Center, new underground parking, and the Protoplex. She invited everyone to celebrate the success of Rolla Rising at OGS Weekend in Rolla on June 3rd & 4th.

Jacob Morris, scholarship recipient, then provided a presentation to the membership. Jacob is from Clinton, MO. He attended State Tech in Linn and received his Associates in Electronics Engineering Technology before coming to S&T. He is currently a dual-major in Computer Engineering and Computer Science.

Senior Design Team, RNJ², provided a quick overview of their research project. The team, composed of members: Rob Hogan, Nick Hoffman, Jason Slusser, and Jake Wilson, are on course to create a wireless booster for a model train network.

Leonard Laskowski called the business meeting to order by welcoming the new inductees that were present.

Roger Volk made a motion to approve the minutes from the October 2021 special meeting. George Schindler seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Ken Owens gave a report for the Membership Committee. He reported that six new members would be inducted into the Academy this year and reminded everyone to send in their nominations for next year.

John Skain then gave a report from Nominations Committee. A proposal was made to fill the two expiring board positions with Alan Erickson and Sharon Beerman-Curtain. John Skain asked

for a vote by acclamation to accept the slate of officers as presented. David Sizemore seconded the motion. Motion carried.

James Paunicka explained the Treasurer's reports. David Shaw made a motion to pay the full \$60K commitment for the Miner Match now. Jim Fricke seconded. Motion carried. Kelvin Erickson made a motion to amend the financials to include the full \$60K (instead of proposed \$30K) expense be included in the proposed financials. Timothy Hagan seconded. Financial approved, motion carried. Dennis Leitterman made a motion to allow Dr. Kosbar to award scholarships in amounts ranging from \$2,500 to \$4,000 each year totaling \$60K until the Miner Match funds are spent. John Skain seconded. Motion carried.

Ken Owens then led the membership in a white paper discussion. The appointed committee consisted of Sharon Beerman-Curtin, Alan Erickson, Ron Kochanowicz, Ken Owens, Roger Volk, and Ron Willoughby.

Committee recommendations included:

- Issuing a detailed agenda will in advance of the meeting
- Shorten business meeting/treasurer's report
- Invite an expert to present regarding what's going on in Washington D.C.
- Short talks by students telling benefits of lab equipment donated by AECE lab endowment funds
- Senior project presentations
- Ditch the tours
- Schedule outside speakers on topics of interest
- Take 10-15 minutes to critique the day's event at the end of each meeting.

Mr. Laskowski reported that the next meeting of the AECE would take place the Thursday of Leadership Week, but that the date had not yet been set.

The Amateur Radio Club gave a quick update on what the group had been doing and their future plans.

Ahmad Alsharoa, Assistant Professor, then provided a presentation introducing himself, his teaching, and research to the membership.

Mark Nealon made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 3:55 p.m. Ron Willoughby seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Minutes submitted by James Paunicka

March 31, 2023

The next AECE Meeting and Banquet of the Academy of Electrical and Computer Engineering will be *Thursday, April 13, 2023*. Mark your calendars and plan to attend.